DaVinci medical academy

No 55/2, New Avadi Road, Alagappa Nagar, Kilpauk. Chennai

Call Now.
  • The AMC Standard Pathway is for international medical graduates (IMGs) seeking general registration with the Medical Board of Australia (the Board) and involves completion of the written examination (CAT MCQ) and the structured clinical examination of the Australian Medical Council (AMC) or approved workplace-based assessment program.

How to apply for the AMC Standard Pathway

Eligibility for the AMC Standard Pathway

  • The Standard Pathway is for IMGs who are not eligible for the Competent Authority Pathway or the Specialist Pathway.
  • IMGs who have completed a primary qualification in medicine and surgery, awarded by a training institution recognised by the AMC is eligible to apply for assessment under this pathway.
  • The Standard Pathway has two alternative processes leading to the award of the AMC Certificate:
    • Standard Pathway (AMC exam): Assessment is by examination only—the AMC CAT MCQ Examination and the AMC Clinical Examination. Most non-specialist applicants will be assessed through this method.
    • Standard Pathway (workplace based assessment): Assessment is by examination and workplace based assessment—the AMC CAT MCQ Examination and workplace based assessment of clinical skills and knowledge by an AMC-accredited authority. Currently assessment programs in four states have been accredited to pilot workplace based assessment. As a result, relatively few applicants are assessed through this pathway.
  • IMGs on the standard pathway must successfully complete a 12 month period of supervised practice (minimum of 47 weeks full time service) in an approved position. This is a Medical Board of Australia requirement, not an AMC requirement.
  • IMGs are required to submit medical qualifications directly to ECFMG’s Electronic Portfolio of International Credentials (EPIC) for verification, but also complete an AMC online application to establish an AMC portfolio.

Primary source verification for the AMC Standard Pathway

Medical registration

  • The AMC has no role in processing applications for registration or in granting registration, which is a function of the Board, the registration authority of Australia.

AMC exam for the AMC Standard Pathway

  • The AMC examinations are set at the level of attainment of medical knowledge, clinical skills and attitudes required of newly qualified graduates of Australian medical schools who are about to begin intern training.
  • They consist of a computer adaptive test (CAT) multiple-choice question (MCQ) examination, and either an AMC Clinical examination or Workplace based assessment. Your examination status must be recorded as “Eligible” to be able to proceed with the AMC examinations process (refer to flowchart below):
    • The AMC CAT MCQ Examination tests knowledge of the principles and practice of medicine in the fields of general practice, internal medicine, paediatrics, psychiatry, surgery, and obstetrics and gynaecology.
    • The AMC Clinical Examination assesses clinical skills in medicine, surgery, obstetrics, gynaecology, paediatrics and psychiatry. It also assesses ability to communicate with patients, their families and other health workers.
  • The AMC Workplace Based Assessment: before applying for a WBA program directly to a WBA provider, you must have passed the AMC CAT MCQ Examination and granted registration by the Medical Board of Australia in order to be employed in an approved clinical position for WBA.
  • You must pass the AMC CAT MCQ Examination before you can apply for either the AMC Clinical Examination or Workplace based assessment.
  • The Assessment Services section is available for telephone enquiries Monday to Friday from 10am to 4pm. Alternatively, you can contact us via our Contact Form.
  • Click here for more details

Workplace based assessment for the AMC Standard Pathway

  • Some IMGs in the Standard Pathway can have their clinical skills and knowledge assessed in the workplace by AMC-accredited providers as an alternative to the AMC Clinical Examination.
    • However, the program currently has limited availability, with a range of assessment programs available. The AMC is not responsible for securing employment for workplace-based assessment.
  • Workplace based assessment of your performance in everyday clinical practice in the Australian healthcare setting tracks your progress in integrating clinical knowledge and skills as a basis for safe and effective clinical judgments and decision making.
    • It also assesses how well you deal with patients and whether you work productively in a team of healthcare professionals.
  • The content and the assessment standard of accredited workplace based assessment programs are approved by the AMC and overseen by members of the AMC Board of Examiners, who ensure that the format and content of the assessments are consistent with the required standard.
  • The assessment methods for workplace based assessment programs are rigorous and structured. Disciplines covered include medicine and surgery; obstetrics and gynaecology; paediatrics; and psychiatry.
  • Eligibility for the AMC Standard Pathway: Before you can take part in a workplace based performance assessment, you must have passed the AMC CAT MCQ Examination and been granted limited registration by the Medical Board of Australia. You need limited registration to be employed in an approved clinical position for workplace based assessment.

Also read:

  1. Overview of AMC Exam
  2. AMC exam application: AMC Portfolio & documents verification
  3. AMC Specialist Pathway
  4. AMC MCQ Exam
  5. AMC Clinical Examination

Also Watch :



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *